You are here

308 Succession of Authority

In the absence of the superintendent, it shall be the responsibility of the other administrators to assume the superintendent's duties. The succession of authority to the superintendent shall be in this order:

Scott Larson, Business Manager

Dave Wiebers, High School Principal

Chris Schulz, Denison Elementary Principal  

Heather Langenfeld, Director of School Improvement

Nancy McCarville, High School Dean of Students

Greg Gunderson, Director of Technology

Trevor Urich, Broadway Elementary Principal

Derek Fink, High School Activities Director

Patti Ryan, Middle School Principal 

If the absence of the superintendent is temporary, the successor shall assume only those duties and responsibilities of the superintendent that require immediate action. If the board determines the absence of the superintendent will be a lengthy one, the board shall appoint an acting superintendent to assume the responsibilities of the superintendent. The successor shall assume the duties when the successor learns of the superintendent's absence or when assigned by the superintendent or the board. References to superintendent in this policy manual shall mean the superintendent or the superintendent's designee unless otherwise stated in the board policy.

Date Board Adopted 9/15/1986

Date Board Reviewed 8/21/2017 

Iowa Code 279.8 (2007) 281 I.A.C. 12.4(4)