You are here

306 Succession of Authority to the Superintendent




In the absence of the superintendent, it is the responsibility of the other administrators to assume the superintendent's duties.  The succession of authority to the superintendent is in this order: 


Scott Larson, Business Manager

Dave Wiebers, High School Principal

Chris Schulz, Denison Elementary Principal

Trevor Urich, Broadway Elementary Principal

Patti Ryan, Middle School Principal

Greg Gunderson, Director of Technology

Heather Langenfeld, Director of School Improvement

Nick Bradley, Middle School Assistant Principal

David Galvin, High School Assistant Principal

Derek Fink, High School Activities Director

Nancy McCarville, High School Dean of Students  


If the absence of the superintendent is temporary, the successor will assume only those duties and responsibilities of the superintendent that require immediate action.  If the board determines the absence of the superintendent will be a lengthy one, the board will appoint an acting superintendent to assume the responsibilities of the superintendent.  The successor will assume the duties when the successor learns of the superintendent's absence or when assigned by the superintendent or the board.


References to "superintendent" in this policy manual will mean the "superintendent or the superintendent's designee" unless otherwise stated in the board policy.


Date Board Approved: 9/15/1986

Date Board Updated/Reviewed: 9/19/2022


Legal Reference:           Iowa Code § 279.8 (2013). 281 I.A.C. 12.4(4).


Legal Reference:          Iowa Code § 279.8 (2013). 281 I.A.C. 12.4(4).